misc
- March 4, 2009
me2everyone a scam or a genius idea
Today i stumbled upon something called me2everyone via a linkedin message.
At first it seemed to be yet another of these new social network sites, promising to offer you the same thing as myspace, facebook or linked in. But i am the type of guy who wanted to see the thing before dissing it.
Wow was i in for a suprise! The site is empty and have almost no content and no functions what so ever!
But they have a new twist to viral marketing. They offer members 250 shares in the company just for joining and another 500 shares per member you get to sign up. And the membership is free. At a face value of 0.001 GBP per share that is 0.25 GBP for joining and 0.50 GBP per member you get to sign up.
Shure thats not worth the effort, but their ambition is to get en active user base in the millions of users by 2012 and their own estimate is that the shares would be worth 0.58 GBP by then. That translates to 145 GBP for signing up and 290 GBP per user who signed up. And if you manage to get a lot of users signed that could easily result in some serious money.
According to some information i found while researching this that the site will offer the following features.
- - Meeting friends
- - Chatting
- - Shopping
- - Paying Games
- - Watching Videos
- - Creating Art Galleries
- - Reading Virtual Newspapers
- - Making money from your own online store
Ok so they are trying to do a new facebook and combine it with online stores and subscription services. My guess is that these stores will cost money or is driven on a revenue share basis.
So what do you think? Is this a scam or a new smart viral marketing scheme to make sure they have a huge user base when going public with their real services?
Personally i think it is the later, but i think they will have a troublesome time when enabling services for all those users at once. After all the invitation only schemes uses by google, spotify etc. is there to be able to gradually increase the number of users and to be able to stear around bottlenecks and other problems poping up instead of crashing the whole site.
Also i must say that they don’t ask for any other information about you than your email address, so there is not really much they can use to scam you.
So please give me some feedback on this. What is your opinion?
And while you are at it, why don’t you register and check things out for yourself?













































4 Responses to “me2everyone a scam or a genius idea”
Yeah, I received the same thing through a couple of my LinkedIn contacts (how professional!). I’d be wary of me2everyone… But on the other hand, it could be a good money maker if they’re true to their promises. But I like it better safe than sorry though!
Have a look at this (sole) blog post for example: http://dubiousdatadeciphering.blogspot.com/2009/03/me2everyone-it-is-liability-not-asset.html
By Mike on Mar 7, 2009
It seems smelly to me but I guess we will only know if me2everyone is for real once it launch. I will not worry too much about shares which has been allocated via email, it is not worth much.
Perhaps we are too skeptic, let’s see what happens
By Pieter on Mar 16, 2009
In my opinion it is a scam. Since december 2007 I have been busy in trying to find a trustful opportunity, but all the sites I found and of which I thought it was interesting, turned out to be a scam in the end. The same will go for Me2E. I think many people paid for starting a business with Me2E. I was only busy one day to find people for my downline. So I think my 29.500 shares are worth a dime now.
By Aart van Wijngaarden on May 10, 2010